Celebrating a milestone year – 2016

2016 was a milestone year for IABC Orange County. As I reflect on this past year, I’m so proud of our strong leadership team, our growing membership and our quality professional development programs.

Membership is up – and by a substantial 30%. We’re seeing more mid-career and senior communication professionals join because IABC provides valuable networking opportunities and compelling, actionable content for members.

Professional Development events offered industry best practices and solutions to your communication problems. On average, attendees scored 90%+ satisfaction for our monthly “Network & Knowledge Series” events. Your feedback was overwhelmingly positive about the breadth and relevance of topics. Our “IndyComm” group grew in popularity and we also launched a Directory of Independent Consultants.

We’re gaining ground on our vision to be the destination association for all Orange County communication professionals. A new corporate member – Ingram Micro – joined our chapter this year, joining the long list of Orange County companies that support IABC’s value proposition: AECOM, Irvine Company, Boeing, Pacific Life, IBM, Beckman Coulter, Parker Aerospace, Toshiba, Disney, Willis Towers Watson, Epicor, Clean Energy Fuels, St. Joseph Health, United Way, Taylor Digital, Writing Stiles, Belmont Publications, Shepherd Marketing + PR, and many others. We’re also very excited that Chapman University is beginning an IABC Student Chapter.

Thank you to our 2016 sponsors who graciously provided financial and in-kind donations that enabled us to deliver high-quality, cost-effective programs to our members. Many thanks to ShowPros, OneOC, Young’s Market Company, and UC Irvine Extension.

Drum roll, please… On December 14, our Board of Directors submitted four applications for recognition by IABC’s 2017 Chapter Management Awards program. The applications outline our strategy, objectives, and results in four aspects of our chapter’s 2016 success: (1) Professional Development, (2) Membership Marketing, (3) Sponsorship, and (4) Financial Management. I’m confident our Chapter’s recent success will shine brightly among the 100+ IABC chapters around the world. Winners will be announced in February at the IABC Leadership Institute in Dallas, Texas.

It was a pleasure to serve alongside our Board of Directors and volunteers this year. Many thanks to our 2016 Board: Sarah Willis, Kim Evans, Judy Iannaccone, Lisa Falcetti, Claudia Miller, John Fabris, Roberta Coffin, Jason Johnston, Denise Keddy, Raleigh Gerber, Jayne Merritt, Janine Zanelli, Rachel Smith, Cathi Douglas, Dean Hopkins, Michael Shepherd and Linda Kim. I look forward to welcoming Michael Shepherd as our 2017 President, and seeing what the New Year has in store for our Chapter.

Happy holidays and happy New Year!

Elaine Beliakoff
IABC/OC president, 2016